WhatsApp group chats mean your child might be added to conversations with people they don’t know, which could increase the chance they come across upsetting or negative messages. (But remember, they could still see this from people they do know!)
WhatsApp default settings mean that anyone, including people outside your child’s phone contacts, can add them to group chats without their approval. To prevent this, we recommend changing the group chat settings from ‘Everyone’ to ‘My Contacts Except…’ and using the tick icon to select all contacts.
The ‘My Contacts Except…’ option means only your child’s phone contacts, except those you exclude, can add your child to groups. But by selecting all contacts, it means that nobody should be able to add your child to a group chat without first sending them an invitation, which they’ll need to accept before being added to a group chat.
For a step by step guide, WhatsApp has more information on group chat settings.